Michigan TIPS Certification Online
Michigan has a mandatory alcohol server training program that was enacted on August 1st, 2001. The Michigan Liquor Control Commission did not recognize online alcohol server training until 2014. eTIPS on-premise course is approved by the MLCC. That mandatory alcohol server training applies only to three on-premise license groups;
Sign up below or visit the course of your choice using the "TIPS Online Courses" menu to the upper left for detailed information.
- New Licensees
- Licensees who have transferred 50% or greater ownership
- Licensees who have been required to train due to violations
Many Michigan cities have a tourist based economy with people from all over the world visiting bars and restaurants with a vacation attitude and different appearing ID's. The TIPS alcohol course gives special priority to people skills, in that it focuses on how service professionals can notice when different types of people are intoxicated, awareness in confronting customers when they've had one drink too many and how to notice a fake ID
TIPS online training offers the full benefits of the classroom TIPS program, but at a much lower cost and in the comfort of your own home. The online TIPS program takes about 3 hours to complete. You may take the online TIPS course at your pace, completing it in one session on one computer or in multiple sessions from multiple computers.
You may login and logout of the course as needed to complete the course on your own schedule. Once you complete the course and pass the final exam, you may print out a certificate of completion that you may use as proof of certification until you receive your TIPS card by US mail within two weeks.
With so much at stake, TIPS has made it less complicated for prospective alcohol servers to get certified. By providing an online platform, certification in approximately 3 hours at a much lower cost and in an environment where you can go at your own pace. Take the course at home or anywhere with a wifi connection.
Michigan Alcohol Laws
This information has been provided to us by the regulating agency and is believed to be correct. However, laws and regulations may change at any time, and the information provided should not be relied upon in place of official documents. For more information or clarification, consult the regulatory body for this jurisdiction directly.
Last update: 07/16/2012
|Age to Consume||21|
|Age to Pour||18, if supervised by someone who is 21.|
|Age to Sell||18 to sell or participate in a sale in grocery stores or convenience stores. 21 to sell in a liquor store.|
|Age to Serve||18, if supervised by someone who is 21.|
|DUI/DWI Under Age Limit||.02|
|Maximum Alcohol per Drink||Not Regulated|
|Number of Drinks at One Time||Not Regulated. However, on premises licensees are prohibited from offering "2 for 1" or other multiple drink promotions whereby multiple drinks are offered for one price.|
|Dram Shop Liability Laws||Yes|
|Social Host Liability Laws||Yes|
|Server Training Required by State||Yes. On-Premises new licensees, 50% or greater ownership transfer and those directed by the MLCC.|
|Notes on Server/Seller Training Regulations||Off premise training is not currently regulated for retail establishments unless required by the MLCC. Anyone who conducts Off-Premise spirits sampling must be trained, and must take the On-Premise course.
This program offers mitigating benefits to any licensee found to have served a minor during an established sting operation by the state and/or local licensing authority. Retail liquor stores and liquor licensed drug stores authorized to conduct tastings must complete a seller/server training program approved by the Liquor Enforcement Division.
All RVP sessions must be at least 4 hours in length. While the state program is voluntary, some local jurisdictions in Michigan have mandatory training ordinances. Any person conducting a tasting in liquor stores in Michigan must complete a server training program that is approved by the state. TIPS is approved.
|ID Confiscation Allowed||Yes. Michigan authorizes licensees to confiscate IDs they recognize as false. Fraudulent IDs may be confiscated. Valid IDs (for example, an unaltered driver's license belonging to an underage person attempting to purchase alcohol) should not be confiscated.|
|Recommended Age for Carding||None|
Acceptable Forms of ID - Michigan
- Official Michigan Operators or Chauffeurs License
- Military ID
- Passport or US Passport Card
- Michigan Personal ID Card
- Any other bona fide picture identification which establishes the identity and age of the person