Washington MAST Alcohol Training Online Class 12 Permit & Class 13 Permit Online
Responsible alcohol training is MANDATORY in the state of Washington. TIPS On-Premise Alcohol Training Online is accepted statewide in Washington. The Washington State Liquor Control Board (WSLCB) has approved TIPS Online On-Premise alcohol training as part of the Mandatory Alcohol Server Training (MAST).
Servers of Alcohol who are 18 to 20 years of age must posess a Class 13 permit to serve alcohol and servers of alcohol who are 21 and over must posess a Class 12 Permit to serve alcohol.
Upon completion of the Washington eTIPS course, the participant will be provided a Washington Class 12 permit or Washington Class 13 permit from HCI within 30 days. The state of Washington also requires the student to provide their social security number, date of birth, height and weight when enrolling in the Washington MAST course. This information will NOT be supplied to anyone other than regulatory officials and/or your employer.
Sign up below or visit the course of your choice using the "TIPS Online Courses" menu to the upper left for detailed information.
Why Should I Take the TIPS Online Training Course for Washington?
The state of Washington requires all servers of alcohol in Washington to have a Class 12 Permit or Class 13 Permit. Many restaurant chains, hotels and upscale establishments require all of their staff to have the TIPS certification to serve alcohol for their company.
Getting your Washington Class 12 Permit or Washington Class 13 Permit through TIPS satifies both requirements. Taking your Washington MAST alcohol training through another company could result in you having to take both courses to work at an upscale hotel, chain restaurant or resort that has made TIPS training mandatory. Save your time and money by satisying both requirements with the Washington MAST approved TIPS online training.
Taking the Washington MAST alcohol training and receiveing your Washington Class 12 Permit or Washington Class 13 Permit has never been easier. By being hosted online, you can easily take the 2 to 3 hour online course at home or a coffee shop; all you need is an internet connection. Once you successfully complete the course, you will receive your Washington Class 12 Permit or Washington Class 13 permit via US mail within 30 days. Just click on the link above, so you can register and get started today!
Washington Alcohol Laws
This information has been provided to us by the regulating agency and is believed to be correct. However, laws and regulations may change at any time, and the information provided should not be relied upon in place of official documents or legal advice. For more information or clarification, consult the regulatory body for this jurisdiction directly.
Last checked: 09/17/2012
|Age to Consume||At least 21 at licensed premises|
|Age to Pour||At least 21. 18-20 year-olds may pour at a customer's table in the dining room portion of an establishment. A restaurant with less than 15% dedicated dining may not employ a minor at any time.|
|Age to Sell||At least 21. 18-20 year-olds may sell only under the supervision of a person 21 years or older. A restaurant with less than 15% dedicated dining may not employ a minor at any time|
|Age to Serve||At least 21. 18-20 year-olds may serve only under the supervision of a person 21 years or older. A restaurant with less than 15% dedicated dining may not employ a minor at any time.|
|DUI/DWI Limit||.08 - .04 for CDL|
|DUI/DWI Under Age Limit||.02|
|Maximum Alcohol per Drink||Not Regulated|
|Number of Drinks at One Time||Not Regulated|
|Dram Shop Liability Laws||WA has Third Party Liability laws.|
|Social Host Liability Laws||No.|
|Server Training Required by State||Yes.|
|ID Confiscation Allowed||Licensees may not confiscate an ID they believe to be false. It is recommended that the licensee or employee state they have some questions about the ID and tell the customer that they will call the police to come and check out the ID. The situation will be resolved in one of three ways: the customer will abandon the ID, the customer will take their ID and leave or the customer will wait for the police. Licensees are urged to call local law enforcement officials or their local liquor agent and advise them of the situation.|
|Corkage/Merlot Laws||A recently enacted ordinance allows restaurant licensees to permit patrons to remove one partially consumed bottle of wine for consumption off the premise, provided that (1) the bottle must be securely resealed by an employee of the restaurant; (2) the bottle is placed in a bag or container that is tamper-proof, and (3) a dated receipt for the bottle of wine is attached to the container. This ordinance applies only to Class R licensees (restaurants).|
|Recommended Age For Carding||30 - Not Mandated by state.|
Acceptable Forms of ID - Washington
- A valid Driver's license issued by any US state or Canadian province.
- A valid State ID card issued by any US state or Canadian province.
- A Washington State Tribal Enrollment Card (no expiration date required.
- A valid Merchant Marine ID.
- A valid official passport.
- A valid Military ID.
All forms of identification must show: Date of birth, signature (except US Military ID), photograph of bearer, and ID expiration date (not expired).
Alien registration cards, "green cards", employment cards, birth certificates, and college ID cards are NOT ACCEPTABLE.
*There has been a change in the law to allow active duty military personnel and dependents to request the military reference in place of the expiration date. In such cases "MIL" will appear in place of the expiration date. The ID is still acceptable to purchase alcohol. If an alcohol server is presented this type of ID they can always ask for the military ID as a second piece of ID.
(ID information last checked on 02/22/2008 Last changed 05/13/2005)